Congratulations 2021 Graduate Fellowship Winners!

group of people standing in front of a roofed area in the forest
Some of the 2020-2021 Duke Physics award and fellowship recipients

Every year, at the start of the Fall semester, the Physics department announces its internal awards and fellowships, and gathers to celebrate with faculty and students. This year the Annual Welcome Picnic took place at the Duke Forest, and was attended by over 130 people.  


These are the Academic Year 2020-2021Physics Awardees: 

American Association of Physics Teachers (AAPT)'s Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award
  • Ryan Bouabid
  • James Wheeler
Duke Physics Mary Creason Memorial Award for Undergraduate Teaching

The Mary Creason Memorial Award was established to honor students who excel in teaching physics in the Introductory Physics Laboratories at Duke. This year, in recognition of their extraordinary efforts teaching amidst a pandemic, the entire teaching team of laboratory TAs was recognized with this award, as well as a small stipend.

  • Joel Bierman
  • Duane Byer
  • Chun-Chia Chen
  • Ge Chen
  • Johnny Chiles
  • Will Delooze
  • Isabella Goetting
  • Michael Higgins
  • Mingyu Kang
  • Yuheng (James) Liao
  • Xincheng Lin
  • Gregory Matousek
  • Matthew McEneaney
  • Ha Nguyen
  • Katherine Parham
  • Swapnil Patel
  • Erik Peterson
  • Bo Yu
Duke Physics Teacher of the Year Award
  • Professor Shailesh Chandrasekhara


Departmental Fellowships

Fellowship recipients' tuition, fees and stipend are covered for up to two semesters during the academic Year 2021-22:

Charles Townes/Perkins-Elmer Fellowship
  • Rebecca Chen, Fall ‘21
  • Tianyu Dai, Fall ‘21
Fritz London Graduate Fellowship
  • Yu Feng, Fall ‘21
  • Hanqing Liu, Summer ‘22
Goshaw Family Endowment Fellowship
  • Utsav Patel, Fall ’21 and Spring ‘22
Henry W. Newson Fellowship
  • Erin Conley, Fall ‘21
  • Long Li, Fall ‘21
  • Jay Runge, Spring ‘22
Walter Gordy Memorial Endowment Fellowship
  • Trevyn Larson, Fall ‘21
  • Lingfei Zhao, Fall ‘21