Department of Physics

Diploma Ceremony

Sunday, May 12, 2024 Love Auditorium & Hall of Science



PROGRAM

12:00 Lunch

1:00 Welcome Address

Professor Steffen A. Bass, Chair Department of Physics

1:15 Presentation of Diplomas for Degrees in Physics

Professor John Mercer Associate Director Undergraduate Studies Department of Physics Professor Ayana Arce Director Undergraduate Studies Department of Physics Professor Mark Kruse Director Graduate Studies Department of Physics

FIRST MAJORS IN PHYSICS

Benjamin Grady Armentrout Michael Alexander Bell $\Sigma\Pi\Sigma$

Emilia D. Cordon

Arianna Michelle Dwomoh

Melia Diane Fox

Vikram Kumar Manocha Ahaan Shantanu Nalavadi Jerone Ravosh Samari

Alexander Dun Yin Tong * ΣΠΣ; Chang Award

SECOND MAJORS IN PHYSICS

Haris Adnan Torda Bordas Timothy Karl Koh Alexander Christian Migala ❖ ΣΠΣ; McCormick Award Santino W. Panzica Judd Wilson Staples Jr. Vinnessa Mese Van Ashrit Verma

MINORS IN PHYSICS

Alison Catherine Korn William Augustus Milhizer Derrick Roseman Benjamin Ari Schussheim

FIRST MAJORS IN BIOPHYSICS

Malaika Ghosh Bhayana Tajuan Gibbison Lauren Adele Puig Sophia Corbett Wilson Tianfang Yu*

SECOND MAJOR IN BIOPHYSICS

Andres Felipe Cordoba ΣΠΣ

GRADUATION WITH DISTINCTION IN PHYSICS

Alexander Christian Migala: Graduation with High Distinction (Advisor: Kate Scholberg) – Neutrino Mass Ordering Study ** ΣΠΣ

Alexander Dun Yin Tong: Graduation with High Distinction (Advisor: Michael Troxel) – Lensing of Cosmic Filaments

Ashrit Verma: Graduation with Distinction (Advisor: Chris Monroe) – Scaling Trapped-Ion Quantum Computers through Photonic Interconnects *

Tianfang Yu: Graduation with Distinction (Advisor: J. Mercer; S. Gerecht; C. F. Schmidt) – Vascular Engineering and Physiology *



Graduation with Distinction – Requires a significant thesis with originality and thesis defense.

Graduation with High Distinction – Highest Honor in Physics. Requires a thesis comparable to papers in

peer reviewed journals and unanimous support from thesis committee members.

Physics Honor Society $\Sigma\Pi\Sigma$

Rodnev I. This award commemorates a former Associate Director of the Duke Free Electron Laser Laboratory,

McCormick Award Rod McCormick, and is given in recognition of the research accomplishments of a physics

undergraduate student.

Daphne Y. Chang This award commemorates Daphne Y. Chang (Trinity 2005), a Duke Physics major with an outstanding Award

record of research and contributions in the department who passed away in 2009.

MASTER OF SCIENCE IN PHYSICS

Derek Soeder

MASTER OF ARTS IN PHYSICS

Austin Hulse

DOCTOR OF PHILOSOPHY IN PHYSICS

Summer 2023

Dr. Yu Feng Dr. Thai Son Nguyen

Dr. Nathan Wilson

Fall 2023

Dr. Baran Bodur

Dr. Utsav Patel

Spring 2024

Dr. Joel Bierman

Dr. Elise le Boulicaut Ennis

Dr. Reed Hodges

Dr. Adryanna Major

Dr. Jameson O'Reilly

Dr. James Runge

Dr. Andrew Smith

Dr. Yikang Zhang

DOCTOR OF PHILOSOPHY DISSERTATION IN PHYSICS

Baran Bodur: [Advisor: Kate Scholberg] - Measurement of Atmospheric Flux-Weighted $n_e - {}^{16}O$ Cross Section with the Super-Kamiokande Experiment.

Joel Bierman: [Advisor: Jianfeng Lu] - Improving the Qubit-Efficiency of Quantum Algorithms for the Electronic Structure Problem Using Orbital Optimization.

Elise le Boulicaut Ennis: [Advisor: Mark Kruse] – Search for Top-Philic Heavy Resonances Using the Single-Lepton Decay Channel in pp Collisions at 13 TeV with the ATLAS Detector.

Yu Feng: [Advisor: Nicolas Brunel] – Robust Information Storage and Consolidation in Attractor Neural Networks.

Reed Hodges: [Advisor: Thomas Mehen] – Studies of T⁺_{cc} decays and Transverse-Momentum-Dependent J/Psi production using Effective Field Theory.

Adryanna Major: [Advisor: Kate Scholberg] – Coherent Elastic Neutrino - Nucleus Scattering in Large-Scale Scintillators.

Thai Son Nguyen: [Advisor: Roxanne Springer] – Effective Field Theory Studies of Few-Nucleon Systems: Fundamental Symmetry Violation, Electromagnetic Interactions, and Direct Detection of Dark Matter.

Jameson O'Reilly: [Advisor: Christopher Monroe] – New Techniques for Fast and High-Fidelity Trapped Ion Photonic Interconnects.

Utsav Patel: [Advisor: Mark Kruse] – Search for Light Fermiophobic Charged Higgs Bosons from Proton-Proton Collisions at 13 TeV using the ATLAS Detector.

James Runge: [Advisor: Phil Barbeau] – Pair Transfer Reactions and Nuclear Matrix Elements for Neutrinoless Double Beta Decay.

Andrew Smith: [Advisor: Haiyan Gao] - A Measurement of the Eta Meson Radiative Decay Width via the Primakoff Effect.

Nathan Wilson: [Advisor: Kenneth Brown] – Plasmonics for On-Chip Photodetectors and Light Sources.

Yikang Zhang: [Advisor: Thomas Barthel] – Driven-Dissipative Phase Transitions for Markovian Open Quantum Systems.

