Fritz London Memorial Prize

Background Information and Previous Winners: 

The Fritz London Prize was created to recognize scientists who made outstanding contributions to the advances of the field of Low Temperature Physics. It is traditionally awarded in the first session of the International Low Temperature Conference, which is sponsored by the IUPAP (International Union of Pure and Applied Physics) and was first awarded in 1957. The bylaws presently used by the Fritz London Prize committee were drafted in 1972 by John Bardeen, winner of two Nobel Prizes and of the '62 F. London Prize, and have been subsequently brought up to date. A Charter of the Fritz London Prize has been drafted, and the present trustees are D.J. Gauthier, D.G. Haase and M.H.W. Chan. The Advisory Board members are: A. Goldman, M. Krusius, W. Ketterle, A. Ikushima, M.N. Cuthbert and G. Frossati.

The London Prize was first funded by grants from the A.D. Little Company that made the Collins helium liquefiers. The funding on a regular basis dates back to 1972 when John Bardeen gave his portion of the Nobel Prize to Duke University for an endowment, called "the Fritz London Fund." This was to provide support for the annual Fritz London lecture and for the London Memorial Prize, to be awarded at each international LT meeting. In 1994, a second endowment was created at Duke University from a) the balance of funds remaining from the LT20 Conference in Oregon, remitted by Russell Donnelly, and b) a gift from Horst Meyer. This second endowment is called "Fritz London Prize endowment" and is solely intended for the London Prize. Further gifts to this endowment were made in 2000, 2006, 2009 and 2012 by the Organizers of the LT22, LT24, LT25 and LT26 Conferences in Helsinki (Finland), Orlando (Florida, USA) Amsterdam (The Netherlands) and Beijing (China).

Furthermore, Oxford Instruments Inc. in Abingdon, UK, has since 1996 made generous gifts in cash for all the London prizes.  

The nomination process for the 2023 London Prize has not begun. This page will be updated when the 2023 prize selection committee has been appointed

The previous winners of the Fritz London prize were:

Year Winner(s) Additional Information
1957 Nicholas Kürti
Download Kurti Citation (pdf - 131.55 KB)
1960 Lev D. Landau
Download Landau Citation (pdf - 47.57 KB)
1962 John Bardeen
Download Bardeen Citation (pdf - 53.87 KB)
1964 David Shoenberg  
1966 Cornelis J. Gorter
Download Gorter Citation (pdf - 97.82 KB)
1968 William M. Fairbank
Download Fairbank Citation (pdf - 114.97 KB)
1970 Brian Josephson
Download Josephson Citation (pdf - 105.09 KB)
1972 Alexei Abrikosov
1975 John Wheatley
Download Wheatley Citation (pdf - 298.41 KB)
1978 Guenter Ahlers, William McMillan, John M. Rowell
Download Ahlers Citation (pdf - 55.14 KB)
Download Rowell Citation (pdf - 424.03 KB)
1981 John D. Reppy, Anthony J. Leggett, Isadore Rudnick
Download Reppy Citation (pdf - 146.91 KB)
Download Leggett Citation (pdf - 66.58 KB)
Download Rudnick Citation (pdf - 224.1 KB)
1984 Werner Buckel, Olli V. Lounasmaa, David J. Thouless
Download Buckel Citation (pdf - 40.45 KB)
1987 K. Alex Müller & Johannes G. Bednorz, Jun Kondo, John Clarke
Download Kondo Citation (pdf - 49.23 KB)
Download Clarke Citation (pdf - 51.9 KB)
1990 Robert C. Dynes, Pierre C. Hohenberg, Anatoli I. Larkin
Download Dynes Citation (pdf - 34.71 KB)
Download Larkin Citation (pdf - 132.04 KB)
1993 Albert Schmid, Dennis Greywall, Horst Meyer
Download Schmid Citation (pdf - 39.84 KB)
Download Greywall Citation (pdf - 100.97 KB)
Download Meyer Citation (pdf - 100.1 KB)
1996 Moses H.W. Chan, Carl Wieman, Eric A. Cornell
Download Chan Citation (pdf - 72.58 KB)
Download Wieman Citation (pdf - 103.99 KB)
Download Cornell Citation (pdf - 98.66 KB)
1999 Douglas F. Brewer, Matti Krusius, Wolfgang Ketterle
Download Brewer Citation (pdf - 743.72 KB)
Download Krusius Citation (pdf - 252.4 KB)
Download Ketterle Citation (pdf - 824.16 KB)
2002 Russell J. Donnelly, Walter N. Hardy, Allen M. Goldman
Download Hardy Citation (pdf - 91.9 KB)
Download Goldman Citation (pdf - 118.13 KB)
2005 Sébastien Balibar, J.C. Séamus Davis, Richard Packard
Download Davis Citation (pdf - 95.63 KB)
Download Packard Citation (pdf - 54.88 KB)
2008 Yuriy M. Bunkov, Vladimir V. Dmitriev, Igor A. Fomin
2011 Humphrey Maris, Hans Mooij, Gerd Schön
Download Maris Citation (pdf - 129.74 KB)
Download Mooij Citation (pdf - 363.5 KB)
Download Schon Citation (pdf - 1000.56 KB)
2014 Michel Devoret, John Martinis, Robert J. Schoelkopf
Download Devoret Citation (pdf - 269.72 KB)
Download Martinis Citation (pdf - 204.52 KB)
2017 William P. Halperin, Jeevak Parpia, James A. Sauls
Download Halperin Citation (pdf - 114.32 KB)
Download Parpia Citation (pdf - 606.23 KB)
Download Sauls Citation (pdf - 121.87 KB)
2020 Frank Steglich, Valerii Vinokur, Qi-Kun Xue
Download Steglich Citation (pdf - 173.74 KB)
Download Vinokur Citation (pdf - 401.74 KB)
Download Xue Citation (pdf - 170.36 KB)
2025 To be announced at LT-30