GSO Leadership

2022-23 GSO Leadership Board

  • President: Gregory Matousek
  • Vice President: Isabella Goetting
  • Secretary/Treasurer: Johnny Chiles
  • 1st Year Rep: Ana Luiza Rodrigues Ferreira Ferrari
  • 2nd Year Rep: Marston Copeland
  • 3rd Year Rep: Matthew McEneaney
  • 4th Year Rep: Katherine Parham and Erik Peterson
  • 5th Year Rep: Elise le Boulicaut
  • 6th + Year Rep: Drew Smith

Members of the leadership board are elected by all graduate students in the middle of the summer and serve until the following year's election. The board meets monthly to discuss committee progress, plan for social activities and ensure all students are informed of current issues and concerns. The President oversees meetings, organizes volunteers for committee work and confirms that every leader and volunteer completes appropriate tasks. The Secretary/Treasurer records meeting minutes and manages the GSO budget. Each class cohort has a representative who is tasked with being the liaison between his/her class and the leadership board.

2022-23 GSO Committees:

  • Colloquium Committee: Son Nguyen, Chair Members choose the field of physics that will be represented along with the specific speakers and organize the lunches with the colloquium speakers. 
  • Curriculum Committee: Marston Copeland, Chair & Baran Bodur Members serve with faculty, including the DGS. They are tasked with reviewing the graduate curriculum and make recommendations for change as necessary.
  • Duke Quantum Center (DQC): Isabella Goetting, Chair Committee aims to cultivate an inclusive and cohesive  environment between students in the DQC and the Physics Department.
  • Graduate & Professional Student Government (GPSC) Representative: Drew Smith, Chair  Student representatives serves as a liaison between the graduate school at the GSO Leadership Committee.
  • Election Commissioner: Isabella Goetting Chair  This student oversees the GSO elections in the Spring and Fall (for incoming students). In addition, he/she administers the Graduate Student Survey.
  • Graduate Student Seminar Committee: Erik Peterson, Chair Members organize the graduate student seminars: recruitment of speakers, venue reservation and food order for complimentary lunch for all attendees.
  • Intramural Sports: Johnny Chiles, Chair & Erik Peterson
  • News/Web Committee: Isabella Goetting, Chair, Gregory Matousek & Maria Acevedo Members work with administration to collect, maintain and improve departmental communications both on the website and in general. 
  • Recruitment Committee: Katherine Parham, Chair, Isabella Goetting , Utsav Patel & Julie Campos Members work in conjunction with staff and faculty on the recruitment events in the Spring.
  • Social Activities Committee: Elise le Boulicaut, Johnny Chiles, Matthew McEneaney, Erik Peterson, Adryanna Major, Emma van Nieuwenhuizen & Utsav Patel  Members coordinate and manage all social activities (Welcome Picnic, Tea Time, Cookie Time, S'mores and Cider, Thanksgiving Dinner, T-shirt Design Contest etc. etc.)
  • Graduate Representative to the Physics Conduct Accountability Committee: Katherine Parham
  • Outreach Committee: Marston Copeland, Adryanna Major, Elise le Boulicaut & Katherine Parham  Members organize  and participate in various outreach activities (Also check PhysicsOutreach@Duke - separate GPSC group)
  • Professional Development Committee: Marston Copeland, Chair, Gregory Matousek & Katherine Parham
  • Teaching Assistant Committee: Maria Acevedo, Adryanna Major & Drew Smith
  • Undergraduate Outreach: Gregory Matousek, Chair, Johnny Chiles & Marston Copeland Members organize events toward Duke undergraduates in coordination with the Duke SPS (Society of Physics Students)
  • Women in Physics: Rebecca Chen and Ana Luiza Rodrigues Ferreira  Ferrari Members organize events to provide a supportive community for women and gender minorities within the Physics Department and advocates for improvements in gender equity.