Bass and Rubinstein Receive Distinguished Professorships

Duke Department of Physics logo

Congratulations to our faculty members Michael Rubinstein and Steffen Bass for being awarded distinguished professorships this year. Rubinstein has been named Aleksander S. Vesic Distinguished Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science and Bass has been named Arts & Sciences Professor of Physics. Rubinstein and Bass join the cohort of primary and joint Physics faculty with such chairs (Haiyan Gao, Ashutosh KotwalBerndt Mueller, Christoph SchmidtKate Scholberg, and Warren Warren, plus Al Goshaw who recently retired), plus quite a few secondary Physics faculty members as well.

Distinguished professorships recognize the outstanding research accomplishments. Appointment to a distinguished professorship is the highest honor the university can bestow upon a member of its faculty.

A full list of this year’s awardees can be found here.